In 2013 NVIDIA overhauled GPU benchmarking with FCAT, a free tool that enabled gamers and reviewers to test not only FPS, but also the smoothness and quality of gameplay on all GPUs. This measured micro-stutters, dropped frames, incorrect pacing and much more. This means that the best GPUs are now not only fast, but also smooth. Giving gamers a far more enjoyable experience.

Today, and again for free, we are releasing FCAT VR; enabling reviewers, game developers, hardware manufacturers, and enthusiasts to reliably test the performance of Virtual Reality PC games, where fast, smooth performance prevents stuttery unresponsive gameplay, which can lead to eye strain and discomfort. Before now, Virtual Reality testing relied on general benchmarking tools, synthetic tests, and hacked-together solutions, which failed to reveal the true performance of GPUs in VR games. With FCAT VR, we read performance data from driver stats, Event Tracing for Windows (ETW), events for Oculus Rift and SteamVR’s performance API data for Vive to generate precise data on all GPUs.

Using this data FCAT VR users can create charts and analyse data for frametimes, dropped frames and more, revealing stutters, interpolation, and the experience received when gaming on any GPU in the tested Virtual Reality game.

This tool will be available to download for free on GeForce.com for all at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 09:00 PST

SHARE
Suvendu Mardi (SAM)

A Graduate, in Computer Application, Hardware Enthusiast, and Die Hard PC Gamer, Work as hardware consultant and building custom PC since 2007